Cinnamon Rolls and Fall

14 10 2010

Hello!  Autumn is in full swing where I’m from and I’m enjoying every minute of it!  I spent most of my morning yesterday cleaning up my garden, cutting down/back plants, taking in the last of the harvest and getting it ready for winter.  Its definitely a sad time, but a good time as well.  Winter will be here soon, no more fresh tomatoes from the garden…. but that just gives me time to plan for next year!  And preserve what I’ve collected from this year.  I made kale chips, dried a mess of tomatoes, and even made some bouquets of fall wildflowers for some friends.  It was a good day.

Sunday, I got up early and made a batch of vegan cinnamon rolls for Jason and myself.  They were definitely some work, but totally worth it.

http://earthvegan.blogspot.com/2009/04/vegan-cinnamon-rolls-with-cream-cheese.html

This is where I got the recipe from.  I made extra frosting because, well admit it, who doesn’t love cream cheese frosting?  I didn’t have any nuts, so we made them without and they were just as tasty.  Unfortunately, I forgot to snap a photo until I was almost done, but I thought a pic of a half eaten cinnamon roll would convey just how tasty they really are.

This week I also made up a mess of beans and rice to nosh on while at work.  Very simple recipe using just things I had at home.  I actually used some potato, mushrooms, tomato, onion, garlic and a can of black beans.  Mix that together with some salt and pepper, chili powder, cumin and whatever else you enjoy and serve over rice.  I don’t drain my beans, but if you chose o drain them, make sure to add 1/2 to 3/4 of a cup of water.

Life is good, my garden has been harvested, my pantry is full to get me through winter.  Now I just have to get my fingers busy for all the craft shows I have coming up.  I don’t foresee any free time much before next year 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

